Skip to main content
MLK Association of Asheville
"Our LIVES Begin To End The Day
We Become SILENT About Things That MATTER"
-Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Rosa Parks Award 2023

The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Association of Asheville and Buncombe County’s Community Outreach Providing Empowerment (COPE) programs committee annually selects recipients of its Rosa Parks Award.

This award honors women in our community who have:

  • Fostered a culture of inclusion in the Asheville community.
  • Worked to achieve a just society for the disadvantaged.
  • Exemplified a nonviolent philosophy in pursuit of a better life for non-majority people.
  • Inspired direct action in the cause of social justice.

The 2023 Rosa Parks Award honorees are:

  • Willie Mae Brown
  • Annette Coleman
  • Catherine Mitchell
  • Dolly Jenkins-Mullen


Mar 23 2023


5:00 pm


Lenoir-Rhyne University
36 Montford Ave., Asheville, NC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *